About GIA

Mission, Staff & Governance

Mission Statement

As a mission-driven organization, GIA’s mission is at the heart of everything we do.

GIA's mission is to ensure the public trust in gems and jewelry by upholding the highest standards of integrity, academics, science, and professionalism through education, research, laboratory services, and instrument development.


Stella Lee
Stella Lee, director of GIA in Hong Kong, earned her GIA Graduate Gemologist® diploma in Carlsbad, California and joined GIA right after she graduated. Prior to studying at GIA and serving GIA as an instructor, she was in the jewelry wholesale and retail business. She enjoys sharing her experience and passion about the gem and jewelry industry, seeing students grow and find rewarding careers.


Wai-Man Cheng
Wai Man Cheng is the Director of GIA Hong Kong Laboratory since it started in 2010. He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Environmental Studies from St. John’s University. He became an experienced diamond grader after joining GIA New York Laboratory in 1997. Before coming back to his home town, he started and led the GIA Botswana Laboratory for 2 years. He is passionate about fancy colored diamonds and dedicate to support the industry in the region. 


The GIA Board of Governors is the steward of the public interest. The board helps direct the strategy of the Institute to ensure that the mission and vision of GIA are followed in all decisions; that the reputation of GIA is preserved and continues to grow globally; and that the financial goals of the Institute are met.

Each governor offers a unique perspective, based on their professional experience in retail, research, education, finance, law, manufacturing and other areas; several have extensive international experience.

GIA’s first advisory board of retail jewelers was organized by Robert Shipley in 1932 to garner support for gemological training. Having a board of directors is one of the requirements for a public benefit nonprofit organization in the United States. All of GIA’s global activities fall under the same governing concept.


Dione D. Kenyon

Retired financial services executive
Past President and CEO, Jewelers Board of Trade

Amit Dhamani
CEO and Managing Director, Dhamani Jewels Group

Barbara L. Dutrow, Ph.D.
Williams LSU Alumni Distinguished Professor of Geology and Geophysics

Kiko Harvey
Inspector General and Director of Oversight, United Nations World Food Programme in Rome, Italy

Thomas H. Insley
Senior Vice President and CFO, Dermata Therapeutics

Susan M. Jacques
President and CEO, GIA

Robert Andrew ‘Andy’ Johnson
CEO, Diamond Cellar Holdings, LLC

Stephen F. Kahler
Senior Vice President of Global Sales Operations, Swarovski North America Limited

Lisa A. Locklear
Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Avanir Pharmaceuticals

Lawrence Ma
Chief executive, Lee Heng Diamond Group
Founding President of the Diamond Federation of Hong Kong

Thomas M. Moses
Executive Vice President and Chief Laboratory and Research Officer, GIA

Jeffrey E. Post, Ph.D.
Curator-in-charge, National Gem and Mineral Collection Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History

Samantha F. Ravich¸ Ph.D.
Chair of the Transformative Cyber Innovation Lab
Managing partner of A2 Partners, LLC

Barbara A. Sawrey, Ph.D.
Dean Emerita of Undergraduate Education, Distinguished Professor Emerita Chemistry and Biochemistry
University of California, San Diego

Tammy Storino
Experienced global operations and finance leader 

Elliot Tannenbaum
Senior Principal, Leo Schachter Diamond Group

John W. Valley, Ph.D.
Charles R. Van Hise Professor, Department of Geoscience University of Wisconsin – Madison

Executive Staff
GIA’s Executive Staff constitutes a diverse group of highly experienced professionals from both inside and outside of the gem and jewelry industry. Responsible for carrying out the Institute’s mission to protect and ensure the public trust globally, the executive team follows a strict code of ethics and seeks to infuse each initiative GIA undertakes with dedication and value-driven purpose. Executive staff maintains daily operations for all areas of the Institute and promotes and continues the growth of GIA.

Senior Executives

Susan M. Jacques President and Chief Executive Officer
Thomas M. Moses Executive Vice President and Chief Laboratory and Research Officer
Anna Martin Senior Vice President of Global Development
Pritesh Patel Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
David J. Tearle Senior Vice President and Chief Financial Officer
Jennifer Wilson Senior Vice President and General Counsel
Elizabeth Keating Vice President and Chief Ethics and Compliance Officer
Duncan Pay Vice President of Education and Chief Academic Officer
Roseanne Sawyer Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer


Nirupa Bhatt Managing Director of GIA India and Middle East
Lisa Biggs Vice President and Corporate Controller
John T. Hall Vice President of Global IT Infrastructure Services
Matt Hall  Vice President of Laboratory Operations for Europe, Middle East and Africa
John King Chief Quality Officer
David Lin Vice President and Chief Information Security Officer
Seung-Hae Moon Managing Director for Asia Pacific
Sriram Natarajan Vice President of Laboratory Operations, India
Susan M. Schindelar Vice President of Global Marketing
Wuyi Wang Vice President of Research and Development
Lucy Xia Vice President of Global Laboratory Planning
Phillip M. Yantzer Vice President of U.S. Laboratory Operations


GIA’s global laboratories and schools are led by a group of experienced professionals and leaders in their respective fields.  Each school and laboratory boasts at its helm a director with a wide breadth of knowledge and intimate understanding of their individual location.  The laboratory and education directors bridge the gap between executive staff and students or lab employees while ensuring the smooth and ethical running of their school or laboratory.

Location School Laboratory
Antwerp  — Anthony Licht
Bangkok Claudia D'Andrea Claudia D'Andrea
Carlsbad Kelly Yantzer Phil Yantzer
Dubai Manoj Singhania  —
Gaborone  Matt Hall
Hong Kong Stella Lee Wai Man Cheng
Johannesburg  — Matt Hall
London Mehdi Saadian  —
Mumbai Manoj Singhania Sriram Natarajan
New York Jennifer Kim Phillip M. Yantzer
Ramat Gan  — Gabriel Alayon Ormaza
Surat  — Sriram Natarajan
Taipei Vivian Wang  —
Tokyo  Sam Kong Tsutomu Takada